Ten years with the students from Rovira i Virgili

The scholarship programme organized by Fundación Repsol and the Social Council of the Rovira i Virgili University (URV) celebrates its 10th anniversary. The aim is to help secondary students gain admission to the URV who, for a variety reasons, cannot access the university.
Scholarship students with representatives from Fundación Repsol and the Rovira i Virgili University from Tarragona

Fundación Repsol and the Social Council of the Rovira i Virgili University in Tarragona have awarded the scholarships offered by both organizations to 18 young students for the 2015-2016 academic year.

The ceremony gained particular importance this year as it is the scholarship programme's tenth anniversary. The ceremony took place in the URV’s assembly room and was presided over by Ignacio Egea, Fundación Repsol’s Vice President; Josep Antón Ferré, the Dean of URV; and Joan Pedrerol, Chairman of the URV Social Council.

The goal of this scholarship programme is to collaborate with the university to provide secondary school students with access to a university education and the chance to continue their studies. Students awarded the scholarship have a solid academic record and are motivated in their studies, but are also facing economic, social, or personal difficulties.

Every year, five new scholarships, each worth €5 000, are awarded. The previously granted scholarships are renewed for the same amount, in accordance with the programme's terms and conditions. The total budget for this year is €90 000. The total value of scholarships awarded since the programme began in 2006 is over €750 000. Furthermore, next year the programme will also be available to students who are completing their education with a master’s degree.

The scholarship programme is yet another example of Fundación Repsol’s commitment to education and development of society, particularly in those areas where the company operates, for example collaborating with the Social Council of the Technical University of Cartagena (UPCT) and with the Social Council of the University of Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM).